Is this a Scam?

send securely
E.F. asked:

I recieved the following email from “Paypal”. I never made any such purchase and my paypal account has no record of it.

Dear PayPal Member,

This email confirms that you have sent an eBay payment of $47.75 USD to
johnsput81@yahoo.com for an eBay item.

———————————–
Payment Details
———————————–

Amount: $47.75 USD

Transaction ID: 2LC956713J776333Y

Subject: Digimax 138

Note:
If you haven’t authorized this charge ,click the link below to dispute transaction
and get full refund

Dispute transaction (Encrypted Link )

*SSL connection:
PayPal automatically encrypts your confidential information
in transit from your computer to ours using the Secure
Sockets Layer protocol (SSL) with an encryption key length
of 128-bits (the highest level commercially available)

———————————–
Item Information
———————————–

eBay User ID: scratchandgnaw2

—————————————————————-
Edward Harrell’s UNCONFIRMED Address
—————————————————————-

Edward Harrell
211 David St.
Springtown, TX 76082
United States

Important Note: Edward Harrell has provided an Unconfirmed Address. If
you are planning on shipping items to Edward Harrell, please check the
Transaction Details page of this payment to find out whether you will
be covered by the PayPal Seller Protection Policy.

—————————————————————-
This payment was sent using your bank account.

By using your bank account to send money, you just:

- Paid easily and securely

- Sent money faster than writing and mailing paper checks
- Paid instantly — your purchase won’t show up on bills at the end of
the month.

Thanks for using your bank account!

—————————————————————-

Thank you for using PayPal!
The PayPal Team
PayPal Email ID PP118






6 Responses to 'Is this a Scam?'

  1. podunksunshine - July 16th, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    The best thing to do is login to paypal and see if the payment was made. NEVER click on any link anyone sends you. Go to either your bank or paypal direct and use the usual login.

  2. Rodger R - July 16th, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    I would check with pay pal but do not use the links provided in the message. Something wierd is going on if you made no such transation ; I suspect the author is trying to bait you into clicking the encrypted link ….

  3. Darren G - July 18th, 2009 at 7:43 am

    Looks like a scam to me. Anytime Paypal sends you an email your name will be listed. I am sure if you hover over the link, it is most likely not a Paypal link at all. More than likely someone is trying to Phish to get your username/password. Send the entire email, with complete header to the following email address:

    Delete the email after you have sent it, then make sure you log in to your Paypal account to make sure nothing has been charged.

    I used to get these all the time, but have not gotten one in a while.

  4. steven25t - July 18th, 2009 at 11:39 pm

    do not click at any links from this message. contact your bank and paypal and re-check information: it looks like phishing, but very weak way of phishing, almost RUDE.

  5. aml0017 - July 19th, 2009 at 7:26 am

    YES! It is a phishing scam (meaning the website mimics another site in order to solicit personal info from you. Do NOT reply or press any buttons on site. First, log into your paypal account at and verify that no charge was made to your account. Once you have done this, you can mark the mail as spam and delete it.

    If there is a charge on your paypal, contact paypal immediately. Keep the email on hand for evidence of fraudulent charges. I don’t think you will have this prob though.

  6. Fay - July 22nd, 2009 at 11:47 am

    Yes and dont click on any links in that e mail. Check with Pay Pal first. It may be someone who wants all your banking information so they can steal your identity and clean your bank a/c out. Just check with paypal if they say no its not from them bin the mail in your junk.


Leave a Reply