yahoo-account-services-us@cc.yahoo-inc.com is legit I think – Help me verify?

send securely
Arz B asked:

I just opened up a new account on Friday Aug 15, 2008 with yahoo and used an older yahoo account as the alternate email address. To that alternate email address this email was sent on the same day. In the header, when you mouse over the little key it says, “This sender is DomainKeys verified.” So I think this is legit, but wanted to make sure.

Verify this email address
Friday, August 15, 2008 6:09 PM
From: This sender is DomainKeys verified “yahoo-account-services-us@cc.yahoo-inc.com” Add sender to Contacts To:
——————————————————————————–

Verify this email address

You recently added a new email address to your Yahoo! account, or initiated verification of an existing email address. To verify that you own this email address, simply click on the link below.

Verifying your email address ensures that you can securely retrieve your account information if your password is lost or stolen. You must verify your email address before you can use it on Yahoo! services that require an email address.

For your security, please keep your email address information up-to-date. If this information changes, you can always update it by signing in to you Yahoo! account and changing it from the “My Account” area.

Verify

If you can’t click the sign in button, you can verify your email address by cutting and pasting (or typing) the following address into your browser:

——————————————————————————–
Not your account?”
If the Yahoo! ID does not belong to you or if you would like to permanently stop receiving messages for this Yahoo! ID at this email address, please let us know.

Copyright © 2008 Yahoo! Inc. All rights reserved.Copyright/IP Policy | Terms of Service

NOTICE: We collect personal information on this site. To learn more about how we use your information, see our Privacy Policy.

I believe you are correct that it is a legit address. Yet, here is what the boneheads at Yahoo India said:

From: “Yahoo! India”
To:

Hello,

Thank you for contacting Yahoo! India Customer Care.

The webpage or message that you are writing about is a hoax originated
by someone other than Yahoo!.

You should assume that any unsolicited message asking for your Yahoo! ID
and password, security key, or other sensitive information is part of a
scam to gain unauthorised access to your account. Feel free to simply
delete such messages, or if you would like to be sure we are aware of
the scam, you can forward a copy to mail-spoof@cc.yahoo-inc.com. If you
have already entered your information into a suspicious message or web
page, you should immediately change your password and update any other
information you provided.

If you provided credit card or other financial details, you should also
contact………….






2 Responses to 'yahoo-account-services-us@cc.yahoo-inc.com is legit I think – Help me verify?'

  1. ? - July 9th, 2010 at 1:55 am

    That one is legitimate. If you don’t verify the account then it will not work.

  2. ? - July 9th, 2010 at 6:38 pm

    yes you now have to verify your alternate email address. Hope it helps.
    Bethany


Leave a Reply